Select Page

La Crosse Central High School counselor Hannah Bertram was awarded one of four School Counselor of the Year Awards for school counselors in the state of Wisconsin. The Wisconsin School Counselor Association (WSCA) chose Bertram from over 2,000 school counselors in the state.

“I am honored to have nominated Ms. Hannah Bertram for Wisconsin School Counselor of the Year,” said La Crosse Central High School principal Jeff Fleig. “I can honestly say she is one of the best school counselors I have worked with. Her work goes beyond the traditional school counselor role.”

Winners were selected based on several criteria, including: school counseling innovations, effective school counseling programs, leadership and advocacy skills, and contributions to student advancement.

Bertram recently received her award at WSCA’s Annual Conference in Madison, WI.

“School counselors make significant contributions to the overall well‐being of students and their success,” said American School Counselor Association executive director Richard Wong, Ed.D. “They have unique qualifications and skills that allow them to address students’ academic achievement, career development and social/emotional needs.”

The Wisconsin School Counselor Association (WSCA) has been serving the state of Wisconsin since 1965.