807 East Avenue South | La Crosse, Wisconsin 54601 | 608.789.7600

Homeless Services

Alicia Place, Community Services Coordinator
(608) 789-7941
aplace@lacrossesd.org


HAS YOUR HOUSING CHANGED SINCE WE LEFT SCHOOL? HAVE THE EFFECTS OF COVID-19 CONTRIBUTED TO YOU LOSING YOUR HOUSING?  DO YOU KNOW SOMEONE IN THIS SITUATION?  
WE ARE HERE TO HELP!

 

The McKinney-Vento Education Assistance Act is federal legislation that, in part, makes sure that students have access to education during homelessness. Homelessness is defined for education purposes by McKinney-Vento as:

Children and youth who lack a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence, and includes children and youth who are:

    • Sharing the housing of other persons due to loss of housing, economic hardship, or a similar reason (sometimes referred to as “doubled-up”)
    • Living in motels, hotels, or camping grounds due to a lack of an alternative
    • Living in emergency shelters (Salvation Army or New Horizons)
    • Living in a public or private place that is not meant for sleeping (cars, parks, bus station, abandoned building, etc.)
    • Migratory children who live in any of the above circumstances

 

If you, or a family you know, are in this situation, please reach out to your student’s school homeless liaison listed below. If you know of a family who has moved to La Crosse because of their housing being disrupted as a result of finances or COViD-19, they should also reach out to enroll in our district as soon as possible. Our staff will work with families to make sure there is access to the internet and technology for continued schooling where needed, as well as connect you with other needed community resources. We need to know where you are to help!

For families who are new to La Crosse and need to enroll, please call: (608)789-7941 to leave a message with information about how to contact you back or enroll online by clicking here.

Emerson: Michelle Torgerson mtorgers@lacrossesd.org (608)789-6929

Hamilton/SOTA: Hannah Bertram hbertram@lacrossesd.org (507)858-7058

Hintgen: Ryan Schmidt rschmidt@lacrossesd.org (608)789-6807

Northside/Coulee Montessori: Heather Gartner hgartner@lacrossesd.org (608)789-6739/Melani Fay mfay@lacrossesd.org (608)789-6747

Northwoods: Tim Hanson thanson@lacrossesd.org  (608)789-6420

Southern Bluffs: Becky Lueck blueck@lacrossesd.org (608)789-5128

Spence: Katie Jeseritz kjeserit@lacrossesd.org (608)789-8890 or
(507)556-1510

State Road: Julie VanDunk jvandunk@lacrossesd.org (608)789-3429

Summit: Tabatha Veum tveum@lacrossesd.org  (608)789-8852

Lincoln: Tanya Vaughn tvaughn@lacrossesd.org (608)789-6661/
Rick Blasing rblasing@lacrossesd.org (608)789-6627

Longfellow: Stephanie Greenwold sgreenwo@lacrossesd.org (608)789-3523/
Lee Stahl lstahl@lacrossesd.org (608)789-3557

Logan Middle: Kimberly Vonlderstine (Schoenfeld) kschoenf@lacrossesd.org (608)406-4783

Central High School: Tatiana Wolf twolf@lacrossesd.org (608)284-8753

Logan High School: Stephanie Mancuso smancuso@lacrossesd.org
(608)789-3339 or (608)406-4049

If you have questions or need assistance, please contact Alicia Place at aplace@lacrossesd.org or (608)789-7941


If, due to a lack of housing, you must live in a shelter, motel, vehicle, or campground, on the street, in abandoned buildings or trailers, or doubled-up with relatives or friends, then according to the McKinney-Vento Act you are considered homeless.

Your children have the right to:

  • Go to school, no matter where you live or how long you have lived there.
  • Continue in the school in which they began the school year before you became homeless or the school they last attended, if that is the choice and it is feasible.
  • Receive transportation to the school they last attended before your family became homeless or the school they last attended, if you or a guardian requests such transportation.
  • Attend a school and participate in school programs with children who are not homeless.
  • Enroll in school without giving a permanent address.
  • Enroll and attend classes while the school arranges for the transfer of school and immunization records or any other documents required for enrollment.
  • Enroll and attend classes in the school of your choice while the school and you seek to resolve a dispute over enrolling your child.
  • Receive the same special programs and services, if needed, as provided to all other children served in these programs.
  • Receive transportation to school and to school programs.

At School, ask about these Special Services:

  • Free breakfast and lunch programs
  • Free transportation services
  • Special transportation for children to remain in their home school
  • Special Education programs, especially if the student has previously received Special Education services
  • Tutoring programs
  • Programs to help children learn English
  • Gifted or talented programs
  • Summer school programs
  • Pre-School programs
  • After-School programs